Is Social Web Threatening The Idea Of Open Web?

Since long has the web been left to itself, few rules and open access to information to everyone. Come Facebook and  Twitter, there arrived a new set of rules, they have built huge information empires that only they have access to. They weren’t willing to open up this information for discovery to third parties at least for free.  Consider this- Social traffic is becoming very dominant when compared to the web as a whole. Which also means the amount of information that Google is having to stay away from is mind numbing. This caught the likes of Google totally off guard, the situation is getting bad, Google would no longer be having access to highly relevant and precise social information. Google stands at a risk of  becoming irrelevant as they no longer have the keys to  information that keeps internet busy. This is precisely why Google was forced to build their own social garden, so as to own the social information for its search engine, while at the same time not having to be at the mercy of these new age networks. Another motivation for Google to enter social is the highly targeted advertising, which is not the subject of my discussion now.

But the worry some trend is not Google getting into social, but its the idea of web. If each of these web companies from Facebook, Twitter, Google start building their own walled gardens All the information and wealth of knowledge the millions of us create, stays with in the closed ecosystem. Each of the these networks might turn out to be huge intranets or sorts within the internet, thus controlling the access to this information. My fear is that the idea of open web is slowly, but certainly being challenged.

One might argue that the market place and competition will decide the fate of these companies in cases of abuse of their power. I would say that this is a ingenious way of looking at the issue, if each of these companies have greater incentive to keep the system closed than to keep open. How would competition address this issue? Because the whole market sees more money in closed web.

I understand this article doesn’t make as much sense with out trying to understand what a closed web will mean for all of us. I will try and write my thoughts on Open Web in my next blog.

10 thoughts on “Is Social Web Threatening The Idea Of Open Web?”

  1. I’m amazed, I must say. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s both equally educative and engaging, and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The issue is something that too few folks are speaking intelligently about. I’m very happy I found this during my hunt for something regarding this.

  2. I like the valuable information you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly. I’m quite sure I’ll learn plenty of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

  3. There was not one Saint Valentine, but several early Christian martyrs of that name. Thus, De Beers had “choked” because of “swallowing” of unknown origin diamonds when the world community had started talking about ethical aspects of business. 49 states, MILICO did very little business these days.

  4. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article writer for your blog. You have some really good articles and I believe I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely love to write some content for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please send me an email if interested. Thanks!

  5. A diamond engagement ring is special and unique as it offers happy couples the perfect opportunity to showcase their upcoming nuptials in a perfect way. Sona Diamond’s New technology have enabled scientists to grow diamonds from a little ion crystal in a lab environment. If in doubt, think about all the antique rings you see set with semi- precious gems that are still in pristine condition after 50 or 100 years.

  6. Hi there great blog! Does running a blog similar to this require a great deal of work? I’ve virtually no understanding of coding but I was hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyways, if you have any ideas or tips for new blog owners please share. I know this is off subject however I just had to ask. Cheers!

  7. A diamond engagement ring is the must-have clincher for a man wanting to hear her say “Yes. Sona Diamond’s New technology have enabled scientists to grow diamonds from a little ion crystal in a lab environment. Also, because it’s the most popular diamond shape there are lots of them out there, so you have a lot of flexibility when purchasing.

  8. Magnificent goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely excellent. I actually like what you have acquired here, really like what you are saying and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it smart. I cant wait to read much more from you. This is actually a tremendous web site.

  9. The cruise recommended shopping at Diamonds International, an American chain store that has close to 150 locations in the Caribbean. It is universal fact that most of the women of the world love to receive a beautiful diamond engagement rings on her very special and auspicious occasion that is engagement for which she would have shape beautiful dreams and also planned for many thing for that particular occasion. Diamond engagement rings are no exception to this rule.

Leave a Reply

