Can Social Media’s Envy Effect Drive Innovation?

Recently I came across couple of articles on Fast Company which talk about something I have been thinking for quite some time.

The Envy Effect: How Friendly Competition Spurs Innovation
Social Media’s Envy Effect

The writer’s theory is that Social Media channels like Twitter, Facebook etc. enable a new level of transparency which allow users to constantly compare and evaluate oneself against another while Human nature’s competitiveness will eventually spur innovation, because each one of us will try to out do each other by bettering oneself. Though this seems an interesting theory, I have quite a few disagreements. The competitive nature could at best spur a debate or challenge of ideas, according to me social media envy leading to innovation is a too much of an ask.

It would be helpful to understand the nature of content on Social Media-

1. Most of the interactions that happen through social media channels are just tidbits or news, viral content or content that has engagement, amusement value etc.

2.  Most of the content shared by users on these networks is not their own content, the users merely  share and consume content which is created by someone else.

3. Social Media is no measure of either Performance or Quality. All the likes, comments, followers, re-tweets are more similar to TRP ratings than any measure of genuinity.

4. Social media shouts at best can at best be about attention and eye balls, so it cannot really be a scale of sophistication of a person.

My theory is that since most users are content consumers, the envy effect if it exists, drives competitive consumption rather than innovation. When I say competitive consumption, I mean users tendency to out do each in spending other say Check-in’g to expensive places, look rich etc. I believe the envy effect leads to unhealthy competitive consumption rather than friendly competition.

Any healthy competition  between two people might at best lead to marginal improvement in creative user engagement and marketing tactics than innovation.

P.S: You might want to read my previous blog on Is Facebook driving Celebritization of our lives?

12 thoughts on “Can Social Media’s Envy Effect Drive Innovation?”

  1. I definitely agree with you. Being a teenager, my peers tend to be addicted to social medias. I can definitely relate with the jealousy thing in the article. But my competitions are just mostly in my head, which I know is really unhealthy. Either way, I see no way as how social medias help drive innovation. Most people find sites like these as a way to give a temporary cure to boredom which also makes them procrastinate more. I don’t see much good in that.

    Love the post!

  2. Hey there! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I genuinely enjoy reading your posts.

    Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums
    that go over the same subjects? Thanks for your time!

  3. After going over a number of the blog postss on your website,
    I seriously like your technique of blogging.
    I book-marked it too my bookmark webpage list and will be checking back in the near future.

    Please check outt my web site too and tell me youhr
    opinion.

  4. Howdy veryy nice blog!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Wonderful ..

    I’ll bookmark your site and tqke the feeds also?
    I am satisfieed to findd so many useful info right here within the submit, we need develop more strategies on this regard, thank yyou
    for sharing. . . . . .

  5. It is in point of fact a nice and useful piece of information. I’m satisfied that you simply shzred this useful info with us.
    Please sray us informed like this. Thank you ffor sharing.

  6. Great post. I was checking constantly this
    blog and I am impressed! Very helpful info specially
    the last part 🙂 I care for such information a lot.
    I was looking for this certain inormation for a long time.
    Thak you and good luck.

  7. Your audience must easily relate to it and recall it when required.

    Numerous online shoppers are impatient and will not wait a long time for a site
    to finish loading. Following certain basic principles can ensure that your corporate logo design is professional
    easy to remember and creates a great impact on its viewers while successfully expressing the nature of your business.

Leave a Reply

